My Window on a colourful Autumn

Columnist - Ron Smithby Ron Smith

There’s not much to say about plants this month, but early next year I shall be suggesting what you can plant to make your garden look pretty.  Meanwhile, clearing all the leaves and making lots of leaf mould can be a boon for your garden.

On a personal note, I’m looking forward to getting back to normal life. I’ve been unable to get out and about as much as I would have liked this year and have missed many things. That is why you haven’t heard a lot from me on the gardening front.

However, I do have a limited view from my front and back windows which has kept me up to date with the seasons. I have to say that this autumn has produced the most dramatic show of colours in the trees and shrubs, owing to the unusual weather patterns we’ve had this year.

The two Lombardy Poplars (P. nigra Italica) on the front lawn are over 100 feet (30 metres) high and had a wonderful show of golden yellow heart-shaped leaves, which shimmered in the breeze.

According to my spies, one of the Ginko ‘Fastigiata’ trees in front of Tesco has died, and only one is looking good with golden yellow leaves.

‘Friends of Victoria Park’ is a society crying out to be formed. If you love the park, why not contact me, as any larger body – whether friends, a business association or a residents’ association – always has more power to negotiate with local councils. Please let me know – I can be contacted via ron.smith@finchleyarrow.co.uk.

I wish you all the very best for Christmas and the New Year. Happy gardening!

Editors Note: Forming associations tend to upset politicians as they would rather their subjects be weak and ineffectual. “Friends of”, “Business Associations” and “Residential Associations” tend to upset them as the people tend to become too powerful. So go for it!

Posted in Nature. Comments Off on My Window on a colourful Autumn
