Clocks go forward.

A reminder that, this weekend, the clocks go forward.

The official time for the change is on the Sunday morning at 2:00am.

One way of remembering which way they go is that they spring forward and fall backwards.

In other words, in the Spring, they go forwards, and in the Fall (Autumn) they go backwards.

Remember, many clockwork clocks are sensitive to being turned backwards so, to be safe, wind on to the required time.

3 Responses to “Clocks go forward.”

  1. David Lewis Says:

    In the past three weeks I’ve had to change the time on my watch and other timepieces (a) 5 hours back on flying to New York, (b) a further 3 hours back on flying to Las Vegas, (c) an hour forward when the clocks changed in the United States, (d) 3 hours forward on flying back to New York, and (e) 5 hours forward on returning to London. By the middle of all this I had no idea what time it was and had to ask the locals! A few years ago during a visit to Israel my taxi arrived to take me to the airport while I was still getting dressed because they’d put the clocks forward without anyone telling me. And now I’ve got to put the damn things forward yet again, for the sixth time this year. Couldn’t the whole world agree to rationalise this crazy system, or at least automate it in some way?

  2. Ampers Says:

    I do understand your frustration. Take a look at the Casio watche range, around the £150 to £250 mark.

    Mine is set for South Africa and UK times, and when I go to SA I just click one button and it changes – and when on SA time, shows UK time in small print at the bottom.

    In addition, it changes automatically when Summertime changes.

    I have a wall clock in my office which also changes summer-time automatically.

    It links onto the national atomic clock’s radio waves three times each night so is always 100% correct.

    The solution is out there, somewhere.

  3. David Lewis Says:

    Yes, I also have a second clock in my office that shows New York time (where my wife is for several weeks of the year, including right now) – and it’s probably an hour behind. I used to have a Casio watch, and I know the feature you mean, though it won’t tell you when the clocks change. I think in 10 or 15 years all new watches and clocks will have GPS and will take their time from the transmitter for their local time zone, but that’s in the future. Meanwhile I do resent having to spend about 25 minutes twice a year changing all the timepieces in my home and car.


Comments are closed.

