New “Safe Neighbourhood Team” sergeant for Finchley – Church End.

Photo of Sgt Aiden Russell

Sgt Aiden Russell - Finchley Team

Finchley Church End Safer Neighbourhoods Team has bid farewell to Sergeant Alison Preece who has joined the Safer Transport Team, and a big welcome goes to Sergeant Aidan Russell who has taken over at the helm.

Sergeant Russell, from Tipperary Ireland, has been in the Metropolitan Police since 1989 serving in Holborn, Camden and now Barnet. He has seen a wide range of departments too with time on response teams, doing community policing and being in charge of a schools team. In May 2011 he transferred to Barnet on promotion as a sergeant where he was assigned to response Team 5 giving him plenty of challenges with a variety of incidents and emergencies.

When asked about his aims and objectives in his new post in Finchley Church End Aidan says: “My aim is to work closely with the community on my ward, reassuring them and gaining their trust and confidence. I hope, with the help of my  team to contribute to making the area a better and  safer place to live/work in. I hope to achieve this by increasing the SNT links with the community, with more proactive and high viability policing and by making best use of the various police teams on the borough. I intend forging closer links with my colleagues in Barnet’s Special Constabulary.

“I consider myself fortunate to have been posted to such a pleasant ward as Finchley Church End. I will listen to the concerns of the residents and act accordingly. “

One of the ward’s priorities is tackling burglary and the sergeant had a taste of that on his first day in the new post: “I enjoy patrolling the ward on foot, which I feel is the best way to get to know my community and gain their trust and respect. On his first day on foot patrol in Church End he already caught a burglar, who was attempting to break into a house in N3.

“I am grateful that my senior management team in Barnet has given me to opportunity to be part of Finchley Church End SNT. Being an SNT Sergeant has long been a personal ambition, and is one I intend putting to great use on the ward.”

Posted in Crime, Police. Comments Off on New “Safe Neighbourhood Team” sergeant for Finchley – Church End.
